Tags

, , , ,

If ever two were one, then surely we.
If ever man were lov’d by wife, then thee.
If ever wife was happy in a man,
Compare with me, ye women, if you can.


I prize thy love more than whole mines of gold
Or all the riches that the East doth hold.
My love is such that rivers cannot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee give recompense.


Thy love is such I can no way repay.
The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persevere
That when we live no more, we may live ever.

-Anne Bradstreet (the first American poet)

Day 07:  Someone who has made your life worth living for.

I met my husband two years ago. In that time, he stole me away from another man, wooed me, asked me to marry him, married me, and has given me everything I could ever hope for in my wildest dreams. Many people say that no one is perfect, but I believe that my husband is perfect and perfect for me. If I had the ability to change anything about him, I wouldn’t. If I had the ability to change anything about our relationship, I wouldn’t. I have no gripes, no grievances, no suggestions as to how he could improve as a husband, best friend, or lover. I am not merely complacent or comfortable with our life; I am singing from the rooftops, smiling when I wake up, dancing down the street ecstatic and exuberant with our life together. He is everything I wish I could be, and everything I have ever wanted in a husband, best friend, and lover. Even when I am the most repulsive, ugly, whiny, irritating, or downtrodden human being in the world, he is there to pick me up, dust me off, kiss me, and tell me truthfully that he thinks I’m beautiful. He fixes what is broken. He makes everything in my life better than it could possibly be if I were alone. He makes getting out of bed at 5:00AM bearable. He makes my awful, draining, stressful beyond words, soul-sucking job sufferable because I know that the money I am making is slowly accumulating into our house fund. There is no one I would rather share a life, home, or bed with than my husband. Without him, my life would not be worth living.

