Tags

, , ,

Today’s 30 Days of Truth asks me to reveal my opinions on a very controversial subject.

Day 18: Your views on gay marriage.

Having been raised Catholic, one might believe that I’m incredibly against “such an abomination,” but that person would be wrong. I was raised Catholic, lost my faith sometime during high school, regained it sometime before my senior year, and strengthened it throughout college. However, I never fully supported or believed the Catholic/ “Christian” way of thinking in regards to gay marriage, even when I was in middle school. Ever since I was old enough to understand what was going on, I’ve been a very accepting and open person who supports everyone regardless of their race, religion, gender, or sexual orientation.

In high school, I was a member of the GSA (Gay Straight Alliance) during my sophomore year. We met once a week to hang out, talk, and discuss the issues that gay people faced both in and out of school. We marched in the homecoming parade with our own banner, participated in the day of silence in April, performed skits during the variety shows,  and instituted a change in the schools to promote acceptance of GLBT students. We had teachers put small rectangular rainbow stickers on the window next to the door of their classrooms (if they wanted to) so that students would know that it was a safe place to go if they needed to talk to someone or if they were being bullied because of their sexual orientation. I had a lot of friends who were gay (or denying it at the time), but mainly I joined because I didn’t like the ignorance and the judgment of the population at large towards people who were “different”. My grandfather was furious; he was afraid I’d get hurt while trying to protect “those people”. After sophomore year, I became involved with yearbook, which took up the majority of my free time outside of school (aside from work) so I quit going to meetings.

I’ve continued to stand up for my belief of accepting (rather than just “tolerating”) people who are different from myself. I do not allow the word “gay” or “queer” to be used with negative connotations in my classroom. We discuss news regarding all kinds of controversial issues on Fridays in a seminar setting that allows them to present their differing opinions in an open and safe environment.

I have absolutely no problem with gay marriage. In fact, I can’t wait for my gay friends to get married so that I can be a part of their celebration of their love for each other.

