Tags

, ,

Today I have four reasons to smile:

1. It’s really hard to want to grade 156 essays when you’re on spring break, especially when there are so many other things that need to get done as well. Like, I don’t know…THIS:

We do not have a dishwasher; the dishwasher is me.

Yesterday, I finally sat down and graded for about 4 or 5 hours and have almost finished one pile of essays. At this point, there’s no way I’m going to get all of them done before Monday rolls around, so I’m going to do the most necessary first, and then work from there. If I don’t finish, who cares? Did I expect my students to do homework over their vacation in Key West or St. Mark’s? Nope! Besides, I have this thing about grading essays- I can’t do it half-assed. I physically can not “speed read” and give a grade. My conscious and my heart just won’t allow it. They get as many marks as necessary and a paragraph of things they “did well” and “need to work on”. That’s why it takes me so unbelievably long to grade each one. I’m going to take that as a positive thing and be happy that I no longer feel the need to inundate myself with paperwork on my vacation!

2. On a bright and springy note despite the snow we received yesterday and the incessant cold we continue to receive here today in the mid-west, my husband sent me flowers yesterday for no reason whatsoever.

This is just one of the thousands of reasons why I don’t think I’ll ever fall out of love with my husband. 🙂

3. I have successfully signed myself up for Weight Watchers online and continued to do the 30 Day Shred (despite having a breakdown last night from being overwhelmed because it was 8:30 and I hadn’t exercised yet and hadn’t eaten dinner yet). I am proud to say that this morning I did not feel as if I had been crushed by a falling building during the night! Progress! Plus, eating things like fruit are zero points! So I can eat these all I want:

4. I spent a good amount of time procrastinating yesterday by bloghopping and reading new blogs. I’ve added them to my blogroll (bottom right corner of the page in the sidebar) and think they’re definitely worth clicking on if I do say so myself.

Heading out into the world now to see if there’s any more reasons why I should be smiling today. I’m thinking Target might have a few smiles for me in the form of an awesome water bottle, a new lunch box, and some more red/green ink pens (since I’ve killed 3 while grading already).

Another someone who makes me smile daily- Feeny Monster!

