Tags

, ,

Over my break, I incorporated new habits (exercise) and changed my diet (Weight Watcher’s Points Plus) so that when school started back up again I would be already “in the swing of things” so to speak. My excuse for not exercising has always been that I don’t haven enough time. As a fully dedicated teacher working an hour from home, it is very true that my free time is precious. However, by changing what time I get home and what I eat when, I’ve been able to work out coming home and exercising immediately so as to not lose my energy from the day by the time I have a moment to exercise. The fact that Jillian Michael’s 30 Day shred is only 20 minutes of exercise is a HUGE motivator for me too; who can argue that they don’t have 20 minutes of free time to dedicate to making themselves feel better and healthier?

The exercise has been kicking my butt (literally at times), but I am so glad that I have made this change. I feel less lazy; my husband is proud of me; my clothes fit better; my (watch out now, it gets personal) hormones seem more under control when Aunt Flo visits, and I feel stronger. I feel more prepared to take on the day in the morning too because the exercise has helped to wear me out enough to make me sleep more soundly. My crazy urges of, “Want a baby! Don’t want a baby! Want! Don’t want! Want! Don’t want!” seem to be tamed; I feel more sane overall. Yet, it it still a huge fight with my motivation to get me to actually change into workout clothes and get moving. I have been so lazy for so long that I don’t want to change despite all of the great benefits. It’s a battle I’m going to have to continue to fight because I don’t want to give up again and go back to feeling as awful as I did a few weeks ago. I think once I start seeing more visible results, I’ll actually have more intrinsic motivation to want to exercise. Right now, my motivation is getting more points to use to eat the foods I love so that I don’t feel deprived. I am such a fat kid; I love cake.

Amid all of the changes in my personal life, I also have work changes to contend with. Next year, I’ll be changing teams and changing grade levels, again. I would be more exasperated by this if I hadn’t had to change my material and grade level every year that I have been teaching so far. I think my department head was surprised how well I accepted the change. I am pretty proud of myself for not freaking out over this and feeling completely overwhelmed. It’s just another adventure, as if I haven’t had enough of those in the past two years of my career. I’m  really looking forward to seeing how well my students from this year do on the ECA; I’m also dreading it. If they don’t do well, that doesn’t speak well for me or my job for next year. I know they can’t actually fire me based on test scores, but I’m sure they could find a way if they wanted to.

The hunt for a summer job has ensued. I have an interview with Hallmark on Wednesday and an interview with Tropical Sno next Saturday at 11am (which I just realized I need to reschedule because I have other obligations that day, shoot). My plan is to work until I’ve earned enough money to buy myself an iPad. I’d really like to have a couple of weeks off this summer before going back to school- I don’t think I could handle returning to school without some kind of break from work. At least our Disney trip will force me to take time off- I think I’ll just plan on not working after that trip.

I’m pretty sure I just rambled unnecessarily for an hour. Sorry about that. It’s been a long week, and it’s not over yet. I still have so much to get done before next Friday when my parents come to visit. *sigh* I wish I had a day free to just sleep and grade. That would be nice.

